Research Documentation

Campaign to Prohibit Cluster Munitions that Cause Unacceptable Harm to Civilians


The Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM) – the most significant disarmament and humanitarian treaty since the 1997 Antipersonnel Mines Ban Convention – the CCM enters into force and becomes fully legally binding on 1 August 2010. From that date forward, states parties must implement all of the treaty’s lifesaving obligations.


This treaty prohibits the use, production, stockpiling, and transfer of cluster munitions and calls on states parties to:


  • *declare and destroy stockpiled cluster munitions within eight years;
  • *identify and clear cluster munition-contaminated areas within 10 years; and
  • assist affected communities and cluster munition survivors so that they can be fully included in society and enjoy their fundamental human rights.


Entry into force Update:

106 Signatories

37 states have ratified the convention


After 1 August, states will no longer be able to sign the Convention and instead will need to accede, which is essentially signing and ratifying in a single step.


cmc-newsletter-october.pdf415.78 KB
cmc-newsletter-december-2009-final.pdf276.77 KB
cmc-newsletter-january-2010.pdf188.65 KB
Convention text_english.pdf320.35 KB

Mauritania Signs Convention on Cluster Munitions 19 April 2010

Mauritania Signs CCM

H. E. Mr. Abderrahim Ould Hadrami Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Permanent Representative of Mauritania, signs the Convention on Cluster Munitions in New York. Photo credit: UN Treaty Section